August 16th, 2007

Vexen Crabtree 2015

Moojan Momen's 8 Categories of Religious Experience

"Categorizing Satanism: Moojan Momen's 8 Pathways to Religious Experience" by Vexen Crabtree (2007). The categories are not designed so that each religion fits one category; most religions cater for multiple types of religious experience. The more successful religions accept more types of religious experience. How does Satanism fit with each mindset?

  1. Ritualism
  2. Legalism
  3. Evangelism
  4. Social Reformation
  5. Asceticism
  6. Monasticism
  7. Gnosticism
  8. Mysticism

The conclusion reads:

Satanism provides some acceptable elements for those looking for: ritualism (2/5), social reformation reactions (2/5), some philosophical forms of asceticism (2/5) but most of all for those who enjoy the intellectual and counter-cultural side of gnostic forms of religion (4/5). It will be acceptable to only the few mystics (1/5) who can ignore the heavily skeptical and rational theology of Satanism. It provides nothing for those who would seek out, or attempt to justify, legalistic, evangelical or monastic religious experiences as Satanism is highly individual, socially decentralised and world-embracing.